8 Award-Winning LGBTQ+ Books to Add to Your TBR

Four books lying next to each other on the hardwood floor

 

Your TBR is about to be stacked with the best of the best.

June is in full swing, and as the official month of Pride, its the perfect time to check out some amazing LGBTQ+ books and authors. The best thing about your summer TBR is there is always room for more amazing books, right?

But what should you add when every content creator is throwing you recommendations faster than you can screenshot??

We've done some research for you! Whether you’re a fan of literary novels, poetry, graphic novels, or memoirs, we’ve got you covered with these eight award-winning titles.


Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller book cover

Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

Winner of the Orange Prize for Fiction

 

You will not want to put this novel down once you start. Song of Achilles is a stunning and moving retelling of the Trojan War and one of the most famous heros in greek mythology, Achilles. Told from the perspective of Patroclus, friend and lover of Achilles, Miller gives a tender and moving portrayal of the infamous warrior from the Illiad. The book is a work of art and will make an excellent addition to your summer reading list. 


The Tradition by Jericho Brown book cover

The Tradition by Jericho Brown

Winner of the Pulitzer Prize 

 

Every poem in this remarkable collection demands your attention and moments of contemplation. If you’re looking for a collection that has the ability to change your perspective, this is it. Jericho Brown tenderly asks the question of how we have become so accustomed to violence and terror in our modern world while guiding us gently through memories of tenderness and danger all at once. 


Gender Queer by Maia Kobabe book cover

Gender Queer by Maia Kobabe

Winner of the Alex Award for Teen Readers and Adult Books

 

A memoir that every ally and LGBTQ+ person should read, Gender Queer is both a hilarious and touching story of self-discovery and gender identity. Written in the form of a graphic novel, Kobabe displays the journey many take to find their authentic selves. Its an excellent resource for those who identify as non-binary or asexual as well as those who want to better understand friends and loved ones who identify this way. 


We Are Okay by Nina LaCour book cover

We are Okay by Nina LaCour 

Winner of the Michael Printz Award for Excellence in Young Adult Literature

 

If you want to have your heart shattered in the best way, this is the award-winner for you. We are Okay is an honest and intimate portrayal of grief and emotional paralysis. It is a profoundly moving story of one character moving from a place of raw loneliness to a fragile and tentive hope for the future. This is a book for anyone who has experienced great loss.


Shuggie Bain by Douglas Stewart book cover

Shuggie Bain by Douglas Stuart

Winner of the 2020 Booker Prize

 

A story of family, addiction, sexuality and love, Shuggie Bain is the heart-wrenching tale of a young boy and his alcoholic mother.  It is an intimate and passionate portrait of what it means to love someone with all of your heart, even when they hurt you. While there is a lot of pain in this book, there is also exquisite beauty. With its complex characters and stunning prose, this book is raw, real, and ready for your summer TBR. 


Icebreaker by A. L. Graziade book cover

Icebreaker by A. L. Graziadei 

A Michael Printz Award for Excellence in Young Adult Literature Honor Book

 

Icebreaker is the hockey romance you need in this hot summer weather. Mickey James is a college freshmen and a hockey legacy with a father and grandfather that have gone down in NHL history. His only competition is Jaysen Caulfield, and when rivalry turns into romance, Mickey will have to decide what he really wants. This is the perfect summer read for fans of Red, White, and Royal Blue


Less by Andrew Sean Greer book cover

Less by Andrew Sean Greer 

Winner of the Pulitzer Prize 

 

This funny and clever novel is all about running away from your problems. When failed novelist Arthur Less gets a wedding invitation from his ex-boyfriend of nine years he feels trapped. Instead of responding, he sets out on an around-the-world trip that takes him from Mexico to Italy to Japan and more. This book is a love story, a satire on Americans traveling abroad, a portrait of the human condition, and winner of the Pulitzer Prize. Don’t miss out on this one!

 

The Color Purple by Alice Walker book cover

The Color Purple by Alice Walker

Winner of the Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award


Originally published in 1982, The Color Purple is still an iconic and irreplaceable piece of cultural literature. As the winner of the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Award, this stunning novel guides us through the a portrait of domestic abuse and carries us on a journey of love, redemption, and transformation.

 

Happy Reading!