Symptoms of Being Human (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Symptoms of Being Human Cover Image
$17.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


This marvellously clear-voiced exploration of life through the eyes of a gender fluid teen is a genuine and touching narrative. This book's perspective is one that is missing from the literary cannon and is desperately needed. Symptoms of Being Human will whisk you away into the head of a character simply trying to find their own place in the world. 

— From Gwen's Picks

Description


A sharply honest and moving debut perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Ask the Passengers.

Riley Cavanaugh is many things: Punk rock. Snarky. Rebellious. And gender fluid. Some days Riley identifies as a boy, and others as a girl. But Riley isn't exactly out yet. And between starting a new school and having a congressman father running for reelection in über-conservative Orange County, the pressure—media and otherwise—is building up in Riley's life.

On the advice of a therapist, Riley starts an anonymous blog to vent those pent-up feelings and tell the truth of what it's really like to be a gender fluid teenager. But just as Riley's starting to settle in at school—even developing feelings for a mysterious outcast—the blog goes viral, and an unnamed commenter discovers Riley's real identity, threatening exposure. And Riley must make a choice: walk away from what the blog has created—a lifeline, new friends, a cause to believe in—or stand up, come out, and risk everything.

From debut author Jeff Garvin comes a powerful and uplifting portrait of a modern teen struggling with high school, relationships, and what it means to be a person.

Praise For…


“Riley is a smart, funny, sharp-eyed force”

“One of the first YA books to deal with the complex issue of gender fluidity…Riley’s emotional life and personal growth shed welcome light on a hitherto obscure subject.”

“Vibrantly imagined…a welcome mirror for gender-fluid teens.”

“With a main character who truly deserves to be called unique, combined with heartbreak and triumphs that are universal, this unforgettable book made me laugh, and also cry: Garvin’s powerful new voice rocks!”

“Riley Cavanaugh is a sharp, funny, powerful voice for those who haven’t quite found theirs yet. Both highly entertaining and highly necessary, Symptoms is the kind of book that makes you a better human for having read it. I loved it.”

“A moving portrayal of what it means to be different, yet the same, all at once. Jeff Garvin has written a beautifully thoughtful book.”

“An important introduction for readers who know little about gender fluidity and a welcome nod to those who may be experiencing similar feelings.”
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062382863
ISBN-10: 0062382861
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: February 2nd, 2016
Pages: 352
Language: English