A Psalm for the Wild-Built: A Monk and Robot Book (Monk & Robot #1) (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
A Psalm for the Wild-Built: A Monk and Robot Book (Monk & Robot #1) By Becky Chambers Cover Image
$21.99
In Stock Now
Rediscovered Books BOISE
3 on hand, as of Jul 15 1:30pm
(Fantasy & Science Fiction)

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Monk & Robot series.

Staff Reviews


To put into words how this book makes me feel would take all the words this novella so eloquently strung together and more. Each page is so full of love. When you are losing faith in yourself or humanity all you really need to do is pick up a Becky Chamber's book. They have a way of inspiring joy and hope unlike any other book I've read in a while.

— Jacey A.

The perfect book for such a trying year. Becky Chambers once again soothed my soul with her words. I went into the book not knowing what to expect besides excellent writing and beautiful world building. I wasn’t disappointed on either front. And the characters and plot only made me love the story more. For most of the book it felt like I was on the road with Sibling Dex, walking next to their tea cart or sitting by the fire enjoying a warm cup. Dex’s interactions with Mosscap were highly relatable and often made me set the book aside to think about how I would respond. Truly, a book I recommend everyone read.

— Hanna F.

After finishing Chamber's first book A Long Way to a Small Angry Planet, I was intrigued with her ability to create engaging and unique characters and situations. This holds so true with this short novella. I am intrigued, engaged, and cannot wait for the next installment of this saga.

— Rebecca G

Reading this book was like sitting down for a nice cup of tea, and not just because the main character spends their time making cups of tea for people in need of them. Chamber's writing is smooth and soothing, and the story is refreshing in its diversity and clear view of human nature. What do you do when your needs are met, you can do anything in the world you want to do, and yet you feel unfulfilled like something is missing? Also, where are the crickets? Sibling Dex battles with these questions as they leave the City and eventually populated land in search of a purpose they can't quite grasp.

— Kalli K.

A story to savor and be wrapped up in enjoying, this book enveloped me in the same feeling as holding a mug of tea close.

— Maddie J.

July 2021 Indie Next List


“What do you do when you have everything you could ever need or want, but still aren't satisfied with what your life is? A Psalm for the Wild-Built is a short and sweet odd-couple road trip set in a beautiful world that could be our world — if we wanted it to be.”
— Joey Puente, DIESEL, A Bookstore, Santa Monica, CA

Description


Winner of the Hugo Award!

In A Psalm for the Wild-Built, bestselling Becky Chambers's delightful new Monk and Robot series, gives us hope for the future.


It's been centuries since the robots of Panga gained self-awareness and laid down their tools; centuries since they wandered, en masse, into the wilderness, never to be seen again; centuries since they faded into myth and urban legend.

One day, the life of a tea monk is upended by the arrival of a robot, there to honor the old promise of checking in. The robot cannot go back until the question of "what do people need?" is answered.

But the answer to that question depends on who you ask, and how.

They're going to need to ask it a lot.

Becky Chambers's new series asks: in a world where people have what they want, does having more matter?

About the Author


Becky Chambers is a science fiction author based in Northern California. She is best known for her Hugo Award-winning Wayfarers series. Her books have also been nominated for the Arthur C. Clarke Award, the Locus Award, and the Women's Prize for Fiction, among others.

Becky has a background in performing arts, and grew up in a family heavily involved in space science. She spends her free time playing video and tabletop games, keeping bees, and looking through her telescope. Having hopped around the world a bit, she’s now back in her home state, where she lives with her wife. She hopes to see Earth from orbit one day.

Praise For…


A USA Today Bestseller!

A Mountains & Plains Independent Booksellers Association Bestseller!

A Locus Award Finalist!

A Brooklyn Public Library Book Prize Finalist!


An Indie Bestseller!

A Psalm for the Wild-Built begins a series that looks optimistic and hopeful, pursuing stories that arise from abundance instead of scarcity, kindness instead of cruelty, and I look forward to seeing where it goes from here.” —NPR

“The gentle touch with which Chambers handles her material makes the book's loftiest philosophical aims feel grounded. With a pervading sense of optimism and warmth, A Psalm for the Wild-Built inaugurates an exciting series from one of science fiction's brightest stars.” —Shelf Awareness starred review

“Hugo Award–winning author Becky Chambers begins a new series with this delightful and quietly philosophical novella that presents a hopeful glimpse into a future where humanity actually does the right thing.” —Buzzfeed

“Chambers’ writing is always tender and healing, but this book has something else braided into it — something more... This is a book that, for one night, made me stop asking ‘what am I even for?’ I’m prescribing a preorder to anyone who has ever felt lost. Stunning, kind, necessary.” —Sarah Gailey

"This was an optimistic vision of a lush, beautiful world that came back from the brink of disaster. Exploring it with the two main characters was a fun and fascinating experience.” —Martha Wells

"I'm the world's biggest fan of odd couple buddy road trips in science fiction, and this odd couple buddy road trip is a delight: funny, thoughtful, touching, sweet, and one of the most humane books I've read in a long time. We could all use a read like this right now." —Sarah Pinsker

"I read this book in one sitting when I was having a really wretched day, and it helped. It felt like a warm cup of tea made by someone who loves me. It's a soft hug of a book, and it says 'It's okay if you're not okay right now.' It made me cry the good sort of tears—the sort when someone is unexpectedly kind to you at the moment you need it most." —Alexandra Rowland

"A joyful experience and, as with all of Chambers’s books, I was left with a warm, fuzzy feeling inside." —New Scientist

“The first book in Chambers’ new series feels like a moment to breathe, a novel that exists to give readers a place to rest and think… Recommended for fans of Chambers’ Wayfarers series and The House in the Cerulean Sea by TJ Klune.” —Booklist Starred Review

"Written with all of Chambers’ characteristic nuance and careful thought, this is a cozy, wholesome meditation on the nature of consciousness and its place in the natural world. Fans of gentle, smart, and hopeful science fiction will delight in this promising series starter." —Publishers Weekly

Throw out that depresso for this cozy cup of tea.” —BuzzFeed

"I’m so pleased that this is the first of a series, and that there will be more of this world, because, wow, do I want more of it. This book is the type of reading experience I’d recommend to anyone having a hard time, which might be a lot of people at this point... it’s a comforting story about comfort and care, as soothing to read as it is to think about, and so full of hope and wonder and potential discovery. I hope you’ll try it." —Smart Bitches, Trashy Books



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250236210
ISBN-10: 1250236215
Publisher: Tordotcom
Publication Date: July 13th, 2021
Pages: 160
Language: English
Series: Monk & Robot