Burning Roses (Hardcover)

Burning Roses Cover Image
$21.99
On Our Shelves Now in Boise or Caldwell
Rediscovered Books BOISE
3 on hand, as of Nov 29 6:15am
(Science Fiction/Fantasy)
Rediscovered Books - CALDWELL
3 on hand, as of Nov 29 6:15am
(Science Fiction/Fantasy)

Description


From Hugo Award Winner S. L. Huang

"S. L. Huang is amazing."—Patrick Rothfuss


Burning Roses is a gorgeous fairy tale of love and family, of demons and lost gods, for fans of Zen Cho and JY Yang.

Rosa, also known as Red Riding Hood, is done with wolves and woods.

Hou Yi the Archer is tired, and knows she’s past her prime.

They would both rather just be retired, but that’s not what the world has ready for them.

When deadly sunbirds begin to ravage the countryside, threatening everything they’ve both grown to love, the two must join forces. Now blessed and burdened with the hindsight of middle age, they begin a quest that’s a reckoning of sacrifices made and mistakes mourned, of choices and family and the quest for immortality.

About the Author


S. L. Huang is a Hollywood stunt performer, firearms expert, and Hugo Award-winning writer with a math degree from MIT and credits in productions like "Battlestar Galactica" and "Top Shot." The author of the Cas Russell novels (Tor Books), including Zero Sum Game, Null Set, and Critical Point, as well as the fantasy novella Burning Roses (Tordotcom Publishing), Huang's short fiction has also appeared in Analog, The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, Strange Horizons, Nature, Tor.com, and more, including numerous best-of anthologies.

Praise For…


"S. L. Huang delivers one of the best additions to the fairy tale genre in recent years. Burning Roses presents a compelling tale that favors change, the chance to forgive, and—universally—the desire to be forgiven."—The Chicago Review of Books

"Huang dazzles in this dark, diverse fairy tale remix. . . . Fantasy fans won't want to miss this."—Publishers Weekly, starred review

"The regret and wisdom of aging monster hunters, who are starting to question who was the monster in the equation anyway, make for a complex and compelling relationship. . . . Huang is clearly an author to watch."—Booklist



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250763990
ISBN-10: 1250763991
Publisher: Tordotcom
Publication Date: September 29th, 2020
Pages: 160