City of Ghosts (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
City of Ghosts By Victoria Schwab, V. E. Schwab Cover Image
$8.99
In Stock Now
Rediscovered Books BOISE
3 on hand, as of Feb 25 11:33am
(Literature)

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the City of Ghosts series.

Staff Reviews


Will never get enough of Victoria Schwab and ghosts. Marry the two together and you have the perfect series for all ages, dark enough to grip you but not so scary that it will leave young readers with nightmares.

— Jacey A.

This is a delightful book that will satisfy young people who have a taste for the spooky. Our protagonist is a young girl, Cassidy, who can see ghosts. Ironically, her parents have just started hosting a “ghost hunting” type show. Of course, neither of them know what their daughter can do. Or that her best friend is a ghost. The characters are nicely drawn, the plot simple yet effective, and the spooky-level just right. This is the first book of the series(at present, there are 3 books), and I suspect this should be a long running series. There is a lot of room for story here and all of the elements are in place. I highly recommend if you have a grade school (maybe even middle school) reader who wants to read Stephen King, but it’s too early for that. Yet

— Kevin L

A wonderfully spooky story about a girl who can cross the Veil, her ghostly best friend, and one of the most haunted cities in the world - Edinburgh. Victoria Schwab does it again, I read it in one setting and can't wait to find out what happens next.

— Hanna F.

Description


From #1 New York Times bestselling author Victoria (V.E.) Schwab (The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue) comes a sweeping, spooky, evocative adventure, perfect for fans of Stranger Things. An instant bestseller!

Ever since Cass almost drowned (okay, she did drown, but she doesn't like to think about it), she can pull back the Veil that separates the living from the dead . . . and enter the world of spirits. Her best friend is even a ghost.

So things are already pretty strange. But they're about to get much stranger.

When Cass's parents start hosting a TV show about the world's most haunted places, the family heads off to Edinburgh, Scotland. Here, graveyards, castles, and secret passageways teem with restless phantoms. And when Cass meets a girl who shares her "gift," she realizes how much she still has to learn about the Veil -- and herself.

And she'll have to learn fast. The city of ghosts is more dangerous than she ever imagined.

About the Author


V.E. Schwab is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of more than twenty novels for readers of all ages, including the City of Ghosts series, The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue, Gallant, and the Shades of Magic series. Her books have garnered critical acclaim and have been featured in the New York Times, Entertainment Weekly, the Washington Post, and on NPR; have been translated into more than a dozen languages; and have been optioned for television and film. She lives in Edinburgh,Scotland. Visit her online at veschwab.com.

Praise For…


Praise for City of Ghosts:"Spine tingling and page-turning, perfectly blending humor, heart, and adventure . . . I loved it!" -- Jennifer A. Nielsen, New York Times bestselling author of The False Prince"This book has it all -- a ghost for a best friend, a city brimming with magic, and a brave girl discovering her strange power. A thrilling and chilling mystery that will have you counting the days until Cass's next adventure." -- Zoraida Cordova, author of the Brooklyn Brujas series* "This atmospheric ghost story from Schwab (the Monsters of Verity duology) chills and charms while challenging readers to face their fears. Courageous, quick-witted Cassidy inspires, her relationship with Jacob is tender, and the thrilling conclusion is sure to gratify." -- Publishers Weekly, starred review"Begs to be read in the dark of night." -- Kirkus Reviews"Schwab paints an eerie portrait of haunted locales and her descriptions of the various ghosts and their terrible ends will send shivers down even the bravest readers' spines . . . This fast-paced, spooky ghost story filled with international adventure is sure to please horror enthusiasts and armchair travelers." -- School Library Journal"Readers craving a spooky story that won't terrorize their dreams will do well with this. Genuine frights are offset by Cass' rapport with Jacob, which injects a steady stream of humor into the spirited, mysterious narrative. A polished, fast-paced read, sure to be popular . . . Schwab's YA fantasies are regularly best-sellers, and this has every reason to follow suit." -- Booklist"[A] fresh spin on ghost tales. [Schwab] evokes the real-world Edinburgh with plenty of vivid sensory detail, and imbues the Veil and its inhabitants with spine-tingling spookiness and melancholy. The humor and warmth of the protagonists' strong bond and the support and safety of Cass's and Lara's loving families nicely balance the suspense of this supernatural adventure." -- The Horn Book

Praise for City of Ghosts:"Spine tingling and page-turning, perfectly blending humor, heart, and adventure . . . I loved it!" -- Jennifer A. Nielsen, New York Times bestselling author of The False Prince"This book has it all -- a ghost for a best friend, a city brimming with magic, and a brave girl discovering her strange power. A thrilling and chilling mystery that will have you counting the days until Cass's next adventure." -- Zoraida Cordova, author of the Brooklyn Brujas series* "This atmospheric ghost story from Schwab (the Monsters of Verity duology) chills and charms while challenging readers to face their fears. Courageous, quick-witted Cassidy inspires, her relationship with Jacob is tender, and the thrilling conclusion is sure to gratify." -- Publishers Weekly, starred review"Begs to be read in the dark of night." -- Kirkus Reviews"Schwab paints an eerie portrait of haunted locales and her descriptions of the various ghosts and their terrible ends will send shivers down even the bravest readers' spines . . . This fast-paced, spooky ghost story filled with international adventure is sure to please horror enthusiasts and armchair travelers." -- School Library Journal"Readers craving a spooky story that won't terrorize their dreams will do well with this. Genuine frights are offset by Cass' rapport with Jacob, which injects a steady stream of humor into the spirited, mysterious narrative. A polished, fast-paced read, sure to be popular . . . Schwab's YA fantasies are regularly best-sellers, and this has every reason to follow suit." -- Booklist"[A] fresh spin on ghost tales. [Schwab] evokes the real-world Edinburgh with plenty of vivid sensory detail, and imbues the Veil and its inhabitants with spine-tingling spookiness and melancholy. The humor and warmth of the protagonists' strong bond and the support and safety of Cass's and Lara's loving families nicely balance the suspense of this supernatural adventure." -- The Horn Book


Product Details
ISBN: 9781338111026
ISBN-10: 1338111027
Publisher: Scholastic Inc.
Publication Date: September 3rd, 2019
Pages: 320
Language: English
Series: City of Ghosts