Felicity Carrol and the Murderous Menace: A Felicity Carrol Mystery (Hardcover)

Felicity Carrol and the Murderous Menace: A Felicity Carrol Mystery Cover Image
$26.99
On Our Shelves Now
Rediscovered Books BOISE
3 on hand, as of Jul 5 4:15am
(Mystery and Suspense)

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the A Felicity Carrol Mystery series.

Description


Heiress and amateur detective Felicity Carrol makes a perilous journey to apprehend a notorious murderer who has terrorized England--and now continues his vicious killing spree across the pond.

Felicity Carrol would rather be doing just about anything other than attending balls or seeking a husband. What she really wants to do is continue her work using the latest forensic methods and her photographic memory to help London police bring murderers to justice, so when her friend, Scotland Yard Inspector Jackson Davies, weak from injury, discovers a murder in a wild mining town in Montana that echoes the terrible crimes in England, Felicity decides to go herself.

In Placer, Montana, her first obstacle is handsome lawman Thomas Pike, who uses his intuition as much as his Colt in keeping law and order in this unruly town. When the murderer strikes again, Felicity begins to suspect Davies is correct: Jack the Ripper has come to America. Felicity sets out to find the killer in a town chock full of secrets, shadows, and suspects, but as the body count rises, this intrepid sleuth faces her most dangerous adversary yet--and discovers that not all killers are as they seem.

About the Author


Patricia Santos Marcantonio was born in Pueblo, Colorado. She has won awards for her journalism, short stories and screenplays.
"Red Ridin' in the Hood and Other Cuentos" has earned an Anne Izard Storyteller's Choice Award; and was named an Americas Award for Children's and Young Adult Literature Commended Title, and one of the Wilde Awards Best Collections to Share; with recommendations from Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books.

Praise For…


Praise for Felicity Carrol and the Murderous Menace:
"This colorful, action-filled mystery presents a novel twist."
Kirkus Reviews

"[An] entrancing sequel...Fans of Laurie King and Jacqueline Winspear will be thrilled by this capable, independent female protagonist."
Publishers Weekly

"Felicity retains her feisty spirit and wit and once again has to battle for acceptance and credibility in a male-dominated society. Readers will look forward to her next adventure."  
Library Journal

"There is...plenty of action and suspense, the mystery is satisfying, and the identity and psychological justification for the actions of Jack the Ripper are certainly plausible."
Historical Novels Review

Praise for Felicity Carrol and the Perilous Pursuit:
“Readers who hunger for more portraits of independent women determined to make their ways in a stultifying society will take the heroine to heart.”
Kirkus Reviews

“This new series is off to a good start with a strong, intelligent main character who struggles to overcome the cultural structures of her time. For fans of cozy Victorian mysteries and admirers of Robin Paige, Elizabeth Peters, and Deanna Raybourn.”
Library Journal

"Marcantonio brings her characters to life through vivid storytelling [and] really does an excellent job of keeping her protagonist one step ahead of the reader."
New York Journal of Books

“[Felicity] is a combination of Sherlock Holmes and Indiana Jones...Recommended to those looking for a female superhero out to right wrongs and defy convention to do so.”
Historical Novels Review 

"A must read. It has it all, an intelligent heroine, a compelling plot and plenty of Victorian atmosphere to keep you entertained to the very last page."
—Emily Brightwell, New York Times bestselling author of the Mrs. Jefferies Mysteries

"A smart and likeable heroine, and a story that flies along at a cracking pace." 
—Stephen Gallagher, author of The Kingdom of Bones

"If you like Victorian era mysteries, you'll love this book...The story did keep me glued...through the last page."  
Midwest Book Reviews


Product Details
ISBN: 9781643852898
ISBN-10: 1643852892
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: February 11th, 2020
Pages: 336
Series: A Felicity Carrol Mystery