Squeaky Clean (Pushkin Vertigo) (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Squeaky Clean (Pushkin Vertigo) By Callum McSorley Cover Image
$16.95
Available to Order- Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Introduction to DI Alison McCoist who is treated like a piranha by her colleagues and struggling to be a good mom to her twins. Davey who is so flawed with his drug use but loves his estranged wife and daughter with all his heart and cleaning cars at the car wash with his boss Sean, who has some anger issues but a good heart deep down in. Along comes the evil mobster "Paulo" who brings his big rigs in for a cleaning and it often contain sordid things like blood stains and cocaine residues. Yep it goes all awry but keeps you turning pages. Satisfying ending and I want to read more of Di McCoist.

— Diane R.

Description


WINNER OF THE McILVANNEY PRIZE for SCOTTISH CRIME NOVEL OF THE YEAR

A raw, fast-paced, and darkly comic thriller and “an amazingly accomplished debut,” perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Val McDermid – The Times Crime Book of the Month

“An absolute knockout! Pitch-dark and yet dripping with warmth. Packed with brilliantly drawn characters, laugh-out-loud humour, and lots of blood – what’s not to love?” – Caz Frear, author of Sweet Little Lies


From a hard-hitting and brutally funny new voice in crime writing comes the first in a new series starring DI Alison McCoist - the least popular detective in the Glasgow police.

Half the Glasgow copshop think DI Alison McCoist is bent. The other half just think she's a fuck-up.

No one thinks very much at all about carwash employee Davey Burnet, until one day he takes the wrong customer's motor for a ride.

One kidnapping later, he and the carwash are officially part of Glasgow's criminal underworld, working for a psychopath who enjoys playing games like 'Keep Yer Kneecaps' with any poor bastard who crosses him.

Can Davey escape from the gang's clutches with his kneecaps and life intact? Perhaps this polis Ally McCoist who keeps nosing around the carwash could help. That's if she doesn't get herself killed first.

Don’t miss this propulsively readable story of two likeable but flawed characters sucked into a grim criminal underworld –think wayward Scottish police meets Breaking Bad.

Features an exclusive excerpt from Paperboy, the next Alison McCoist thriller.

About the Author


Callum McSorley is a writer based in Glasgow whose short stories have appeared in Gutter Magazine, Monstrous Regiment and New Writing Scotland. Squeaky Clean is his debut novel, inspired by his years working at a car wash in Glasgow's East End.

Praise For…


“An astonishingly good debut. Wonderfully rounded characters, misfits all, who we really care about, in a compelling story laced with humour and humanity. Callum McSorley is an outstanding new writer who is destined to become a very big name in the genre.” — Peter James

“A good many ghastly things happen in Squeaky Clean, and McSorley doesn't spare you the details; but this is also a comic novel, with characters who are, no matter how frightening and violent, absurd.” — Book Brunch

“Gritty, bloody and oozing with the menace of the underworld... McSorley has crafted an accomplished novel that is already being hailed as a classic of the Tartan Noir genre. [Squeaky Clean] cracks along at a rare pace, and combines an easy writing style, an ear for dialogue and a nice line in dry wit... The sort of page-turner which ensures that once you've started, you'll keep going until the final, gripping denouement.” Scottish Field


Product Details
ISBN: 9781782278382
ISBN-10: 1782278389
Publisher: Pushkin Vertigo
Publication Date: June 11th, 2024
Pages: 384
Language: English
Series: Pushkin Vertigo