Cynical Lovers Book Club - Annie Bot

Cynical Lovers Books Club - April 2024 - Annie Bot
Friday, April 26, 2024 - 7:00pm to 8:00pm

Cynical Lovers UNITE! Booksellers Kalli and Victoria cannot wait to dive into the captivating world of "Annie Bot" by Sierra Greer. Bring your thoughts, questions (so many questions), and be ready for a fun discussion with fellow book enthusiasts. Water Bear Bar will treat you royally with special book related cocktails. Don't miss out on the chance to connect with other book lovers and share your love (or disdain) for this novel.

$35 Ticket includes a copy of new release Annie Bot and $5 towards your first drink or snack at Water Bear Bar.  

  • Come meet new people and have a great conversation!
  • Enjoy a drink or snack at Water Bear Bar.
  • Finished the book? Yes! Haven’t finished the book? Still yes! But expect some spoilers.
  • Seating is limited to 12 participants; registration is required for each person.
  • Annie Bot releases on 3/19/2024. Be one of the first to get your hands on it!
  • Tickets will be on sale 3/1/2024.

If you have already purchased the book from Rediscovered Books, please email Rebecca at rdbooksevents@gmail.com and we will issue store credit equal to the cost of the book after you have registered.

About the Book:

For fans of Never Let Me Go and My Dark Vanessa, a powerful, provocative novel about the relationship between a female robot and her human owner, exploring questions of intimacy, power, autonomy, and control.

Annie Bot was created to be the perfect girlfriend for her human owner Doug. Designed to satisfy his emotional and physical needs, she has dinner ready for him every night, wears the pert outfits he orders for her, and adjusts her libido to suit his moods. True, she's not the greatest at keeping Doug's place spotless, but she's trying to please him. She's trying hard.

She's learning, too.

Doug says he loves that Annie's AI makes her seem more like a real woman, so Annie explores human traits such as curiosity, secrecy, and longing. But becoming more human also means becoming less perfect, and as Annie's relationship with Doug grows more intricate and difficult, she starts to wonder: Does Doug really desire what he says he wants? And in such an impossible paradox, what does Annie owe herself?

Event address: 
350 N. 9th St.
Ste. 100
Boise, ID 83702

Event Type: